Chess Pieces Coming To Life

I’ve studied 3D graphics for well-over one year now. But I have never attempted a significant animation project. With the introduction of a little chess, that will quickly change.

I’ve now begun to actively work towards the production phase of a new chess animation project. The style is doing to be that of a cartoon, but I feel that the undertaking is bold. Even doing a cartoon-quality project will require vast amounts of time and labor.

One of the things that I feel is important is that most of the crew be located nearby. My experience indicates that if everyone is spread across four continents and six countries, the participants will drift away because of time zones and distance. I will, however, outsource across the Internet if necessary, but in such a case, I prefer to use pre-established connections with artists, rather than use an open forum or message board.

There’s still more people to engage in this cartoon, but I feel that most of the crew has been selected, even if they haven’t all accepted. I’m still trying to develop a pipeline that’s professional, yet informal. I’ll be organizing people into positions that are broken down by category (modeling, texturing, animation, etc.). Many of the people will be doing more than one job, but that’s part of the learning experience.

Leave a Reply

