Norm’s Night

Last weekend was Norm’s Night at HU. Since it was a special event with contests during the regular basketball game, I decided to go and photograph it. For this event, I used a two-flash setup with green gels over the flash heads. I was having trouble getting my Wein Peanut to sync the second flash so for most of these I went with on-camera flash and a somewhat slow shutter speed (usually 1/80th sec).

By the time I was in place with fresh batteries and SD card (oops), they were having the Norm look-a-like competition. Several guys dressed up like lumberjacks to show off their Norm-ness.
SMC PENTAX-M 50mm 1:2 f/2.8 1/80 ISO 320 no flash
This one involved people spinning around a baseball bat in a sort of race or relay. I’m not really sure. The picture says it better.
85mm (I think) f/2.8 1/125 ISO 320 PENTAX AF200T
flash
I’m not really sure what this is about, but it seemed interesting. Shutter was 1/80th with no flash. This looks like a static shot of players standing around, but you can still see the ball being passed. I increased the ISO to 400 and used my flash to give a cleaner image than the one previous.
This is probably my top pick of the night. Good focus with a sense of motion. Definitely a keeper.
1/80th ISO 200
Another good one with more of an action pose. You can see the off-camera Sunpak filling in from camera left.
Yes, there’s someone’s head in the way (certainly not intended that way), but I like how the players are running into an area that’s obscured. This leaves a lot to the imagination by what is hidden. Also, the flash makes it look like they’re headed towards…something. ‘Course it obviously can’t be seen.
1/80th ISO 200
I saw these cuties sitting behind me. I snapped three exposures of these girls, and this is the one that stood out the most. Still not entirely satisfied, but that’s life. The Sunpak fired from just a few feet to camera left.
1/80th ISO 250
Shot of some cheerleaders. One of the things that I like about HU basketball is the cheerleader team. They seem to have some really good routines.
1/80th ISO 250
Last picture of the night. Pretty much what you see is what’s there. Using an ISO of 400 helped to capture more of the motion of the scene, I think.
Leave a Reply

