Of Friends, Video Games, and Pictures

Over a month ago, I came home from college on break and visited some friends. Of course what better thing to do while visiting friends than bring a camera and take some snapshots. So I had my new Pentax DSLR with me and took a few photos. I’d like to share a little bit about what I did along with showing some of the pictures.

First thing that we did was snap some pictures of each other. This is one that Winn took of me. The lens was the 18-55mm kit zoomed to 32 mm, and I added some fill with the K-x’s pop-up flash. Exposure was f/5.6 @ 1/80 ISO 200. In this one we swapped places. Only change was I zoomed the lens to 40mm and used a shutter speed of 1/30.

Looking around I took some more pictures outside, including a few of the chickens on their farm.
55mm f/5.6 1/60th ISO 200

This was especially tricky to get. I knew I wanted a great looking sky, but finding the balance between the highly contrasted sky and ground was difficult. 38mm f/8 1/400 ISO 200

 

Next my friends got out their Playstation 2, and we started rocking it up. When I didn’t have a controller in my hands, I grabbed my camera and started shooting away. This picture was straight available light. Max has such a nice smile.        18mm f/3.5 1/6th ISO 160

Then I popped on my Pentax AF200T flash. I looked around the room and noticed that the ambient illumination came from an incandescent bulb. Instead of drowning that light with my flash, I decided to use it and taped a full CTO gel in front of my flash to match the color of the bulb.

It’s still looking good in this one, but I do have harsh shadows from the on-camera flash. Technical info was the same as before.

Before taking this shot, I found a piece of paper towel and held it in front of the flash as a diffuser. It’s not efficient, of course, but it’s better than nothing.                                                                         26mm f/4 1/6th ISO 500

The slow speed sync is really evident here. This is one of those pictures that make me feel really creative.                                                         38mm f/4.5 1/6th ISO 500

  This is the final one with big smiles all around. Unless you’re too busy staring at a screen to look at the camera.

Leave a Reply

