Screen Replacements

I recently finished up two compositing projects. In both cases, I was asked to replace the screens in the videos. The videos are below with a description of my process for each.

In the first video, I had to replace the computer monitors for the film Other Halves. Unfortunately, the monitors were displaying a green image with tracking markers attached. This caused heavy green spill that made keying impossible and integration of the screen images more difficult. To handle this problem, the team sought to bring on myself and other roto artists to successfully isolate the actors and other foreground elements from the screens.

For this task, I decided to use Blackmagic’s Fusion. Its professional, node-based workflow, as well as its free basic version, made it a good choice for compositing. Its roto tools leave something to be desired, however, so to create the mattes, I turned to mocha from Imagineer Systems. The planar tracking feature central to mocha ensured that I could roto the actress in the shot with a minimum of hassle. I could then import the rotoshapes relatively easily into Fusion.

I spent nearly 17 hours to complete the composite. A total of 33 shapes were used to roto the actress.

In the second video, I needed to replace a screen on a smartphone to demonstrate a mobile app. I again used mocha to track the screen and roto the actor’s finger. Once this was done, I used Adobe After Effects to composite the image of the app with the plate.

mask_animation

Leave a Reply

